Driving with a Suspended License
Oct. 10, 2022
In the state of Missouri, a person could get a license suspension for violating a traffic law, getting too many driving points, a DUI conviction, or other traffic-related offenses. With your license suspended, you will be prohibited from driving legally in the state.
Moreover, driving with a suspended or revoked license is a traffic violation that may result in misdemeanor charges. A skilled Missouri criminal defense attorney can enlighten you about the penalties for driving with a suspended license and determine how to get your license reinstated.
At Walker Law LLC, I'm dedicated to offering comprehensive guidance and reliable representation to clients in their license suspension cases. As your legal counsel, I will investigate every aspect of your case, strategize an effective defense to fight your charges, and strive to reinstate your license. My firm is proud to serve clients across Chesterfield, Town and Country, Cottleville, and the rest of Missouri.
Reasons a License May Be Suspended
In Missouri, your driver's license could be suspended or revoked due to various reasons, such as:
Accumulating too many demerit points on your driving record
DUI conviction – Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
Failure to take a legally requested chemical test – breath, blood, or urine test
Failure to pay traffic fines or tickets
Defaulting child support payments
Underage alcohol possession
Failure to Appear (FTA) in court
Driving without vehicle insurance
Vandalizing someone else's property
A drug crime conviction
A physical or mental health condition
Leaving an accident scene or failure to report a traffic crash
If you have received a violation for driving with a suspended license, you need to reach out to a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney right away. Your legal counsel can help you understand the potential penalties and consequences and determine your best defenses.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
According to Missouri law, "A person commits the offense of driving while revoked if such person operates a motor vehicle on a highway when such person's license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked under the state laws." If convicted, the possible penalties and consequences include:
First Offense: This is a Class D misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $500.
Second or Third Offense: This is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and up to 1 year in jail.
Instead of driving on a suspended license, you should consider applying for a hardship license. A reliable criminal defense attorney can review the surrounding circumstances of your situation and determine if you qualify for a hardship license.
What is a Hardship License?
A hardship license, or limited driving privilege (LDP), can be described as a restricted driver's license that allows a person with a suspended or revoked license to drive to certain places. In Missouri, a hardship license allows you to drive to:
Hospital or medical care
Keep in mind that your application for a hardship license will only be approved if you're eligible.
Who Qualifies for Hardship License?
You may be eligible for a hardship license in Missouri if:
You're currently a Missouri resident.
You have met all the requirements for your license reinstatement.
You do not have a felony conviction involving a motor vehicle.
Your license wasn't revoked for failing to pass a medical or driving exam.
Your license wasn't suspended for failure to pay your traffic tickets.
Your license wasn't suspended due to excessive BAC.
There are certain restrictions that come with a limited driving privilege. You must get your license fully reinstated to eliminate these restrictions.
Getting Your License Reinstated in Missouri
To get your driver's license reinstated in Missouri, you should follow the steps below:
Understand why your license was suspended or revoked.
Fulfill the conditions of the license suspension.
File a proof of liability insurance form.
Pay the required reinstatement fees.
Retake the driver examination.
Once your application is approved by the DMV, you will receive a notification. You can then proceed to the Missouri DMV with your email to get your driver's license back. An experienced Missouri traffic violations attorney can guide you through the license reinstatement process and help complete the necessary documentation in a timely manner.
How Legal Counsel Can Help
Driving with a suspended license is a serious traffic violation that could result in severe punishment. If convicted, you may be facing lengthy jail time, massive fines, demerit points on your driving record, and other life-changing ramifications. When charged with driving with a suspended license, hiring an aggressive criminal defense attorney is imperative for detailed guidance.
At Walker Law LLC, I have the resources to protect individuals charged with driving with a suspended license from the worst possible punishments. As a former cop, I can use my in-depth understanding of the criminal justice system to help determine your best possible defenses. Above all, I will fight vigorously to uphold your legal rights, protect your driving privileges, help you get a hardship license, or ultimately get your license reinstated.
Contact my firm – Walker Law LLC – today to schedule a simple case assessment with a dependable criminal defense lawyer. I can offer you the personalized legal guidance and skilled representation you need in your traffic violations case. My firm proudly represents clients across Chesterfield, Town, and Country, Cottleville, as well as throughout St. Louis County and Charles County, Missouri.